Chair and Co-chair

Our working-group

The EFPT Psychotherapy Working Group (P-WG) is a group of  young psychiatrists and trainees from various countries in Europe who are interested in psychotherapy and its role within psychiatry.
Recent news from EFPT newsletter

About P-WG

The Psychotherapy Working Group (PWG) is one of the permanent working groups of European Federation of Psychiatric Trainees. Our main activities are focused on:

  • Collaboration among European trainees independently and via their national associations
  • Rising profile of psychotherapy teaching in psychiatry
  • Improving training in psychotherapy for psychiatrists
  • International collaborative research
  • Annual work at the EFPT Forum where the physical meeting of our working group takes place and where ideas are born!


Communication of the working group throughout the year is maintained via e-mail. We would love to hear from psychiatric trainees. Please do not hesitate to contact us at

Psychotherapy Working Group statement

A working knowledge of psychotherapy is an integral part of being a psychiatrist and this must be reflected in training in psychiatry. All trainees should gain the knowledge, skills and attitudes to be competent in psychotherapy and be able to evaluate suitability for referral to specialist psychotherapists. In order to be competent, a basic knowledge should be gained in all relevant forms of psychotherapy and practical experience should be gained in at least one form of psychotherapy of the trainee’s choice.

Training in psychotherapy must include supervision by qualified therapists. A personal psychotherapeutic experience is seen as a valuable component of training. Relevant training authorities should ensure that time, resources and funding are available to all trainees to meet the above mentioned psychotherapy training needs.

Lisbon 1996, Tampere 1999, Napoli 2001, Sinaia 2002, Paris 2003, Istanbul 2005, Gothenborg 2008, 2009, Cambridge, UK (see all EFPT statement)


  • We wrote an introductory guidebook for Psychotherapy Incoming trainees
  • We published “My identity as a psychiatrist psychotherapy” survey (European Psychiatry, 2017) and did an analysis of the EFPT country report about psychotherapy training.

Psychotherapy Guidebook

We wrote a free e-book on psychotherapy in Europe. Trainees will find information about main kinds of psychotherapy, how to train and the point of view of a trainee concerning this kind of psychotherapy. We defined the main kinds of psychotherapy we would like to cover and we are distributing the topics between us.

Download our EFPT-psychotherapy-guidebook with all the chapters.

Online version on pubpub

Please cite the book using the citation management in pubpub. For instance :

  • CORBO M, Abreu T. Cognitive Remediation Therapy. EFPT Psychotherapy Guidebook [Internet]. 2018 Nov 10; Available from:


  • Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT)
  • Rational emotive behavior therapy (REBT)
  • Interpersonal Psychotherapy
  • Mindfulness therapy
  • Client-Centered Psychotherapy
  • Psychoeducation
  • Cognitive Remediation Therapy
  • Psychoanalysis
  • Institutional Psychotherapy
  • Psychodrama
  • Family Therapy
  • Supportive psychotherapy

Current active P-WG members of 2018-2019 are:

Agnes Bene – Hungary
Asilay Seker – Turkey
Barbara Moura – Portugal
Chantelle Wiseman – UK
Charles So – France
Clément Dondé – France
Helena Kisand – Estonia
Jonas Montvidas – Lithuania
Kim Doan – France
Lina Matutyte – Laithuania
Milica Vezmar – Serbia
Oscar Soto – Spain
Pelin Su Sirin – Turkey
Petra Valentova – Czech Republic
Petra Soros – Hungary
Rita Leite – Portugal
Roberts Klotins – UK/Latvia
Ruth Harrison – UK
Satenik Sahakyan – Armenia
Selin Kiran – Belgium
Thomas Gargot – France
Voita Prasil – Czech Republic

Past members of the P-WG:

Thomas Gargot (chair, France), Ekin Sönmez (co-chair, Turkey), Tânia Abreu (Portugal), Milos Lazarevic (Serbia), Roberts Klotins (UK / Latvia), Petra Marinova (Bulgaria),  Rita Silva (Portugal), Nikitas Arnaoutoglou (UK/Greece), Alaraisanen Antti (Finland), Blazev Martina (Croatia), Cervetti Alice (Italy), Clément Dondé (France), Fistonic Marina (Croatia), Hall Scott (UK), Jager Tibor (Hungary), Jancic Dragana (Serbia), Lalic Slavica Nikolic (Serbia),  Michal Raszka (Czech Republic), Mielimaka Michal (Poland), Murphy Louise (UK), Petricean Alina (UK/Romania), Plemenitas Anja (Slovenia), Rojnic Palavra Irena (Croatia), Samiotakis Georgios (Greece), Selma Pozderevic (Bosnia – Herzegovina), Diego Quattrone (UK/Italy), Sileikaite Aldona(Lithuania), Tomicevic Marko (Croatia), Veiksaar Peeter (Estonia), van Effenterre Aude (France), Vilgats Flo (Estonia), Zenger Maria (Finland), Zuppo Serena (Italy).